Soap Making is Chemistry, Baby

October 19, 2008

Poem at Otion's Cold Process Soapmaking Class

Poem at Otion's Cold Process Soapmaking Class

Poem and I took a cold process soapmaking class at Otion on Saturday. I like working with the Palm and Coconut bases and especially like the Shea butter. Picking out the fragrance oils and adding the mica and oxide coloring powders is the most creative part. The lye beads are a little scary. I am really sensitive to cleaning agents and when I began to scrape the lye/water mixture, I couldn’t stop coughing. If I decide to start making soap, I am going to have to do that part out on the deck where the toxic fumes won’t be a problem.

5 Responses to “Soap Making is Chemistry, Baby”

  1. Lauren said

    Oh, that looks like a lot of fun! I’d totally tag along if you do another class.

  2. flipflopsintherain said

    this looks like it was a blast! and look at how cute poem is, rockin her PRWeb hat…

  3. Poem said

    That was fun, and I can’t wait for my hippie scented soap to be ready. I must admit I was a bit intimidated at first when he started talking chemistry and stuff, but I really enjoyed it. Thanks for inviting me sista!

    Tie dye party next?

    🙂

  4. realmz said

    Totally! I have a grandbaby on the way and want to tie dye onesies and socks 🙂

  5. […] bookmarks tagged soapmaking Soapmaking Class saved by 11 others     StoneC0ldSteveAustin bookmarked on 10/28/08 | […]

Leave a Reply

